Bull rider finishes third at CCA finals

Cody Coverchuk watches the action following his ride Saturday night in Regina.

By Terry Villeneuve

Cody Coverchuk of Meadow Lake rode to a third-place finish at his first-ever Canadian Cowboys Association finals rodeo at Agribition in Regina last weekend.

The 17-year-old twister was the second-youngest in the field of 10 bull riders, but was a threat nonetheless.

“He’s an up and coming star,” said rodeo announcer Kelly Brice. “He’s a talented kid who basically came out of nowhere. Nobody had seen him before this year – he’s come out of the bush and made a name for himself real quick.”

On his first two rides, Coverchuk scored 80.5 and 77.5 points respectively – both good enough for third place each night. The next two bulls proved too much for him as he was bucked off and with those, the overall championship title had slipped from his grasp.

However, on his final bull, Coverchuk put together a solid ride, scoring 80.5 – again third on the evening.

“It was good experience for me,” he said afterward. “I wasn’t used to all the big crowds and after I rode my first two, I felt good, maybe a little too good.”

Coverchuk ended the week on a high note, covering his last bull in style. “I’d seen the bull four times before, and he was a tough draw,” he said of the bull called ‘Livin’ the Dream’.

Coverchuk’s 2011 season got off to a bumpy start, getting knocked out in June at Meadow Lake’s bullarama. However, it got better.

“After that things picked up for me. I was drawing more consistently – getting on the best bulls and I was riding good,” he said. “Then on one weekend in mid-July I went to four rodeos, won three of them and placed second at the other. That catapulted me into first place and after that things just kept rolling.”

At season’s end, Coverchuck was ranked number one with winnings of more than $10,600. He now has a few choices to make.

“As soon as I turn 18, I can turn pro and also ride in the PBR or I can stick with the CCA for another year,” he said. “For now it’s one rodeo, one ride at a time. I’ll continue to take it easy and have fun, and not put too much pressure on myself.”

Leave a Reply

